/, Industry News/Newsflash: Vocalink sponsors GCHC Leadership in Patient Safety Award!

We would like to congratulate Jennifer Green, RN, CNS from Ft. Hamilton Hospital as the winner of the Greater Cincinnati Health Council’s Patient Safety Award sponsored by Vocalink.

See this event on our Facebook page!

Jennifer Green, RN, CNS, infection preventionist and safety practitioner at Fort Hamilton Hospital, is the 2012 recipient of the Greater Cincinnati Health Council’s 10th Annual Richard M. Smith, MD Leadership in Patient Safety Award. The award was presented at the Health Council’s recent annual meeting, where previous award recipients also were recognized in honor of a decade of patient safety achievements in Greater Cincinnati.

Green works in tandem with multiple departments and teams at Fort Hamilton Hospital to identify patient harm risk behaviors and coach them on improvement practices. She is consulted routinely on projects within the facility to ensure that all aspects of patient safety and infection prevention are addressed. She also represents the hospital on the Health Council’s Harm Reduction Collaborative, a group of hospitals working on aggressive goals to reduce regional incidents of patient falls and pressure ulcers.

“Jennifer is a practitioner who models patient safety to others daily,” said Marilyn Schwemberger, Fort Hamilton Hospital’s vice president and chief nursing officer who nominated Green for the award. “She performs all duties with a focus on safety and a sense of teamwork, grace and genuine concern for continuous improvement – not only within the hospital, but throughout the continuum of care and into the community served by the hospital.”

The award judges also noted her commitment to the broader community: Jennifer works with city and county health officials on the surveillance and tracking of potentially infectious processes that could pose a public health risk; serves on a facility committee that is focused specifically on identifying best practices for patients who are admitted from local extended care facilities; and provides continuing education for local EMS to eliminate infections and ensure patients are kept as safe as possible during transport both to and from their facility.

This award was first presented in 2003 in memory of Dr. Richard Smith, a tireless proponent of patient safety. Given annually, it recognizes the accomplishments of a person who exemplifies Dr. Smith’s dedication and commitment to patient safety, who works to communicate the importance of making patient safety an organizational priority, and who also serves as an outstanding role model for those working to enhance the safety of patients not only within his or her own organization, but throughout the community.

“This awards program not only recognizes outstanding leadership in patient safety, but also aims to promote the sharing of best practices as we raise the bar across Greater Cincinnati,” said Colleen O’Toole, PhD, president of the Greater Cincinnati Health Council.

This year’s other finalists included health care leaders from various disciplines and roles within their organizations:

  • Berc Gawne, Jr., MD, MS, MPH, MS, CPE, FACPE – The Christ Hospital, VP and Chief Medical Officer
  • Julie Parshall, RN – Highland District Hospital, Nurse Manager
  • Katie Staubach, MSN, Med, BSN – UC Health – University Hospital, Clinical Education Program Developer

“As we celebrate the 10th anniversary of this award, we honor the memory of Dr. Smith and reflect on the major strides we’ve made over the last decade as a region in the area of patient safety,” stated O’Toole. “There is still much more to be done, but we thank all of our previous winners for their past and continued leadership in this area.”

Past winners of this prestigious award include:

2004: Marta Render, MD – Veterans Affairs Medical Center
2005: Lisa Banks, RN, CPHQ – Margaret Mary Community Hospital
2006: Mary Jolly, RN, BSN, MBA, CPHQ, CMQ/OE – The Jewish Hospital – Mercy Health* and Sandi King, RN* – TriHealth (now retired)
2007: Robert Waymeyer, RN – St. Elizabeth Edgewood
2008: Debbie Hayes, RN – The Christ Hospital
2009: Stephen Muething, MD – Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center
2010: Robert Wones, MD – UC Health – University Hospital
2011: Victoria Buyniski Gluckman – The Christ Hospital
*Place of employment at time of receiving award

The 2012 awards program was sponsored by Vocalink, a Health Council contracted vendor for language interpreter and document translation services.

The Greater Cincinnati Health Council is a widely recognized association that provides a unique forum where hospital and health care leaders connect to create a stronger health care community. For more than 50 years, the Council has served as a trusted voice on hospital and health care issues for the Tristate region.